Tags

, , , , , ,

On the 30th of November 2013 I got back into old school BMXing and started with a Mini Profile Champ due to getting a good deal off the local ads. At first I didn’t know exactly what it was but it looked quite interesting.. After a bit of research I found it is actually quite a rare little BMX. I decided that I would fix it up and restore it to some sort of former glory but never had any time to really get into it. Well this is how it looked when I got it.

Mini Profile Champ

Mini Profile Champ

A friend of mine contacted me on the 2nd of January 2014 (yes while I was being festive) and offered me a trade for a 1983 Mongoose Minigoose. Being who I am (A Mongoose fanatic) I opted for this trade. The way I saw it is that he would appreciate the Profile more than myself and I would appreciate the Minigoose more. We did the trade and this is what I brought home that day.

1983 Mongoose Minigoose

1983 Mongoose Minigoose

Since then I have been messing with a couple of ideas of how I will finish this one. After almost a year of putting on and taking off parts I am fully happy with the end result for now. I built this one for my niece to pedal on our local Moonlightmass event or just a general ride out from time to time. I hope she enjoys it.

So that’s enough reading…this is the end result::

Minigoose BMX Museum (3) Minigoose BMX Museum (1)

Minigoose BMX Museum (2)

The parts list are as follows:

Frame & Fork: 1983 Mongoose Minigoose

Bars: Mini Pro class / Expert bars

Stem: SR MS422

Grips: Red Mongoose repro Brake levers:

Dia Compe Tech 2 (rear only)

Brake calipers: Dia Compe MX1000 reproduction

Rims: Generic plastic mags

Cranks: Mongoose 165 one piece cranks.

Pedals: SR MP460 (NOS before fitted)

Spider and chain ring: Sugino spider and Suntour Chain ring

Seat: Viscount Aero Reproduction.

Seat clamp: Dia Compe MX Reproduction.

Seatpost: Fluted aluminium lay back

Pads: Vinyl NOS (before fitted) Mongoose pads in red.

Decals / Stickers: Mongoose Minigoose reproduction

Tyres: Cheng Shin 2.125 reproduction